Renaud Capuçon, Lausanne Chamber Orchestra

Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne

Today among the Dijon Opera’s most faithful artists, Renaud Capuçon returns with one of the most perfect scores for classical violin, before tackling the depth and complexity one of the monuments of the orchestral repertoire: "The Great" Symphony D.944 by Schubert.

Composed in 1775, the Concerto n° 5 is one of Mozart’s most beautiful gifts to the violin – from the initial Allegro with its broad introduction, nobility of expression and melodic purity, to the mysterious epic warmth of its Adagio, tinged by the tragedy of its minor colours. The sumptuous dialogue between the orchestra and the soloists culminates in the conclusive Rondo, which explodes with sonorous discoveries and adopts the spirit of the Hungarian czardas that already delighted Haydn. To stand against such a score, only a  monument would do: in this case, Schubert’s Symphony D.944, "The Great", with its larger-than-life proportions. The 29-year-old composer would not live to hear it performed. It was Mendelssohn, in 1839, who premiered this imposing work, often considered a foreshadowing of Bruckner. A solemn portal, full of contrasts, the first movement precedes an Andante mostly given to the woodwinds. Then comes a Scherzo whose vigour is often veiled by sorrow, and finally the colossal Finale. All of Schubert can be read within these pages, which recall Beethoven’s "Ode to Joy" and whose Coda, indescribable, culminates in apotheosis. 


Musical director and violin Renaud Capuçon
Lausanne Chamber Orchestra

En partenariat avec le Festival international de musique de Besançon Franche-Comté

Photo © Simon Fowler


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for violin  n° 5 in A major, KV 219

Franz Schubert
Symphony n° 9 in C major, D.944, "The Great"

Prices and seating plan
from 5.5€ to 46€ (tarif b)
More details
1h40 avec entracte
Artists biographies

Vous aimerez aussi

Sabine Devieilhe & Mathieu Pordoy

Berg – Mozart – Wolf – Strauss

The Other voyage